MAC Alluring Aquatics!

Hi all – my apologies for the long break between posts. Whenever I read bloggers give excuses, I would scoff and think, “Yeah, yeah, excuses, excuses.” But now I’m realizing that life really does get in the way and that a lot of times, I’d rather not put up any content at all, than have content that I don’t think is my best. I’m an all-or-nothing kinda gal usually, but here’s to trying to at least just put up some of my thoughts on the latest of MAC’s offerings.

I’m sure you all know what a hot commodity they are right now. The beautiful packaging, the high pigmentation and buttery texture – MAC hit it out of the park with this one! I don’t think I’ve loved a limited edition collection from MAC like this as when they came out with their Making Pretty collection a couple of years ago (when I got my HG lipstick, 3N… ::sniff:: I can’t believe it’s not permanent…. but I digress).

Packaging: Stunning. You’ve most likely seen the beautiful photos. They basically make me feel like I am a mermaid – they have beautiful light blue, reflective packaging with raised water droplets. Say what you want about MAC’s previous collections (can you tell I wasn’t a fan?), but these are truly beautiful.

Products: Solid A+! I didn’t get anything that were duds, which is so rare for MAC collections (especially for the past year). The eyeshadows are super pigmented and they are gorgeous, wearable colors. I’m very neutral with my eye makeup, so while I won’t be wearing the dark colors on an every day basis, I can definitely appreciate how pretty they are. The blushes are a bit brown for me – I generally like my blushes to be light pinks with shimmer or corals, and these browny-orangey-red (getting all technical here) colors are not a favorite of mine…. but again, who can resist this collection? I, for one, am not that strong. And again, I can appreciate what great quality they are, even if the colors are not my favorites. I definitely recommend getting at least one thing in the “Extra Dimensions” formula – the texture is softer than any other powder product I have tried!

You can also see my review of the products in more detail here on my YouTube channel.

Here are a few swatches of the things I got below:

2014-05-23 18.05.17

 

MAC Alluring Aquatics Extra Dimension Eyeshadows: Lorelei, Sea Worship, Silver Sun and Soul Serenade

2014-05-23 18.08.22

MAC Alluring Aquatics Extra Dimension Blushes in Seduced at Sea and Sea Me, Hear Me

2014-05-23 18.09.47

MAC Alluring Aquatics Lipglass in Peachstock

Did you get anything from this collection??

Leave a Reply

